Home-made baby bath bomb perfection.

Standard

Some may call it poor planning, others ingenuity, but whichever way you see the journey, here we are. Yesterday we ran out of bathing products for Bo. I’ve only ever used organic, chemical free, planet friendly bath products on Bo’s skin because, well, she’s worth it. Actually it all began in the hospital on day 2 post birth when we gave Bo her very first bath.

J&Js is an extremely popular baby bathing product in Australia (and I’m sure in other parts of the world too), and in the hospital you get a little mini travel pack FREE with every baby. Don’t get too pumped though, don’t just run out and get pregnant for the awesome freebees… I hate to tell you, J&J, in my opinion, is pretty average [crap]. But then, what do I know right? I only ever used it ONCE. Once was more than enough. One squirt of this stuff into the bath water and my beautiful newborns skin was dry and flaky afterwards. Poor poppet. So we donated the stuff to charity because hey, someone might want to use it? And upgraded to organic. Which was great. Never in the past 15 weeks of Bo’s life have we had a problem again.

Until now. Because we are out of products and in the local store is the dreaded J&J and a whole lot of other products that are overpriced and full of chemicals.

So, we made our own. Bo wasn’t much help this time… she was busy trying to roll off the mat.

The Method:

We are pretty limited here with what we can get our hands on. I’d love to use some lavender, or other dried flowers or goats milk soap… but I can’t find anything like that here… so for now we went really simple.

I used quick oats (cos we can’t get rolled outs here) and both peppermint and chamomile tea (I’d have preferred to use the dried flowers/leaves whole but again we have a supply issue here). It really is as simple as that.

Open up the tea bags and mix the two teas together then add the oats.

I used a muslin wrap cut up into pieces… anyone with a baby has a million muslin wraps… we just used an old second hand one. i cut it into squares, added the oat mixture and tied it up in a tight little parcel (with the fabric tie from my pj pants – cos since pregnancy, well, I haven’t really needed to tie my pants up anymore… they are snug enough).

That’s it. At bath time we just pop one of these little parcels into the warm water and squish it around a bit to release all the goodness. I then use it like a sponge on her skin, its really soft and gets in those chubby baby folds really easily, beautiful soft oat milk comes out and cleans her skin as you go. It makes the bath smell lovely (like a big cup of herbal tea) and the oats make her skin super smooth and milky. Baby spa treatment? Bo seemed to think so.

Perfect xox

12 responses »

  1. Awesome! It was opposite for me. I started with Arbonne organic baby wash and it gave my daughter cradle cap. As soon as I switched to J&J it went away and now she’s been fine ever since. It’s funny because one of the only things that made me nauseous during pregnancy was the smell of my organic body wash. I still try to use organic stuff as much as I can though.

  2. Completely agree with your perspective on the JJ wash. Thankfully though we were warned against it by my beautiful midwives at the antenatal class. Love your DIY ideas too. :)

  3. Wow! So simple yet sounds refreshing for the lovely baby skin. I’ve been wanting to go organic but havent been able to (on a budget here.) Thanks for this, I’m going to make it thks week!

    • Hey Jessica, thanks for stopping by. We are on a very tight budget too, so I know what that’s like! Great tip that i discovered last night: take the used package into the shower with you and use it on your own skin too… it’s lovely! XO

  4. Recently found your blog, and it’s so lovely! I love your pictures and beautiful outlook on life. I have never been to Indonesia, but I have been to several parts of Africa and Asia, and your posts make me miss those faraway places!
    I can’t get it to link to my blog for some reason, but here’s the address, if you’re curious: babymakingbybecky.blogspot.com

    • Hey Becky, you sure do make beautiful babies! Looking at your twins makes me wish there was two of Bo – all the more baby to love! Thanks for commenting! Hope you come by again soon!

  5. Ooo! Archie loves bathtime now (thank goodness) and I reckon he’d enjoy a bit of baby spa treatment too! We can get the organic products that we prefer, but despite that it’s definitely time to find some budget saving ways to look after this little one too. :-)

  6. Hi everyone! i am an Australian Aromatherapist living in jakarta, Indonesia. I have been researching products for my baby product range which will be launched in Indonesia. By accident I came across this blog. My advise to you all is to take the time to read your ingredient labels Just type into your computer the name of the chemical and what is? You will be very surprised to read what some of the ingredients are! As far as J&J goes, there is an article on the internet about them promising to remove their 2 worst chemicals from their baby range by 2013. (Only the 2 worst). Erica, have a look at some of the ingredients in the Arbonne range. I am sorry to say that “natural”is a lot more expensive. I am doing my best but unfortunately, “natural and organic”are a lot more expensive!
    Keep an eye out for us in Indonesia. the range is called Matilda- aromababy. Its so good to see that you all love you babies so much!

  7. Erica, sorry, lost my train of thought! Look at the ingredients on the labels, not what it just says on the advertising. Some people are intolerant to natural skin products but I would think that it could be a reaction to the preservatives.

    I looked at the Cussons baby range and nearly had a coronary!

Leave a Reply

